MID ARGYLL, KINTYRE AND THE ISLANDS COMMUNITY PLANNNING GROUP

Community Council By - Elections

1 Summary

This report provides information on the recent Community Council By-Elections.

2 Recommendation

To note the contents of this report.

3 Background

A review of the Scheme of Community Councils in Argyll & Bute was undertaken in 2008 and implemented in April 2009.

The first elections for all 56 Community Councils were held in October 2009 where 54 of the Community Councils were constituted.

Further by-elections were held in December 2009 and March and October 2010 to fill the remaining vacancies. Following that all Community Councils were written to in July 2011 to enquire whether they wanted their remaining vacancies to be filled by running further By-Elections. The publication of the Notice of Election was advertised in the local papers and published on the Councils website on week beginning 1 August with the close of nominations being on Thursday 18 August 2011. One contest arose for Kilmun Community Council and the timetable for this is detailed at section 5 of this report.

4. In the undernoted areas, the following Community Councils asked for By-Elections to be run.

Mid-Argyll, Kintyre and the Islands

Southend – 2 vacancies The Laggan – 3 vacancies Campbeltown – 4 vacancies Tarbert & Skipness – 4 vacancies Islay – 12 vacancies Jura – 2 vacancies Colonsay – 5 vacancies South Knapdale – 3 vacancies Ardrishaig – 5 vacancies Inveraray – 1 vacancy

As the number of nominations did not exceed the number of vacancies to be filled, no contests for the Mid Argyll, Kintyre & The Islands Area were required. As a result of the above, the following individuals have now been confirmed as Community Councillors

within the Community councils listed.

Southend	Donald McLean (1)
Tarbert & Skipness	Duncan I MacDougall (1)
Islay	Glenmore Roberts, Fiona MacGregor, Alice Stewart, Geunda
	CL Young, Elizabeth Gillies, David Boyd, Niall Colthart (7)
Jura	Alexander Dunnachie (1)
Ardrishaig	Eric B Marriott (1)

Shirley MacLeod Area Governance Manager

20 August 2011